Mark M. Tehranipoor, PhD

Intel Charles E. Young Preeminence Endowed Chair Professor in Cybersecurity

ECE Department, University of Florida

Co-founder, International Symposium on Hardware-Oriented Security and Trust (HOST)

Co-director, Florida Institute for Cybersecurity Research (FICS)

Email: lastname at ufl dot edu


Mark M. Tehranipoor is currently the Intel Charles E. Young Preeminence Endowed Chair Professor in Cybersecurity at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, the University of Florida. His current research projects include: hardware security and trust, electronics supply chain security, IoT security, and reliable and testable VLSI design. Prof. Tehranipoor has published over 350 journal articles and refereed conference papers and has given more than 160 invited talks and keynote addresses since 2006. In addition, he has 3 patents, and has published 8 books and 22 book chapters. His projects are sponsored by both the industry (Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC), Texas Instruments, Freescale, Comcast, Honeywell, LSI, Mentor Graphics, Raytheon, Draper, Juniper, R3Logic, Cisco, Qualcomm, MediaTeck, etc.) and the Government (NSF, ARO, MDA, DOD, AFOSR, NIST, DOE, etc.).

He is a recipient of 12 best paper awards and nominations, the 2009 NSF CAREER award, the 2014 MURI award, the 2008 IEEE Computer Society (CS) Meritorious Service Award, the 2012 IEEE CS Outstanding Contribution, the 2010 and 2016 IEEE TTTC/CS Most Successful Technical Event for co-founding and chairing HOST Symposium, the 2009 and 2014 UConn ECE Research Excellence Award, and the 2012 UConn SOE Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award.
He serves on the program committee of more than a dozen leading conferences and workshops. Prof. Tehranipoor served as the guest editor for JETTA, IEEE Design and Test of Computers, and IEEE Computer Society Computing Now. He served as Program Chair of the 2007 IEEE Defect-Based Testing (DBT) workshop, 2016 IEEE International Verification and Security Workshop (IVSW), Program Chair of the 2008 IEEE Defect and Data Driven Testing (D3T) workshop, Co-program Chair of the 2008 International Symposium on Defect and Fault Tolerance in VLSI Systems (DFTS), General Chair for D3T-2009 and DFTS-2009, and Vice-general Chair for NATW-2011.

He co-founded IEEE International Symposium on Hardware-Oriented Security and Trust (HOST) ( and served as HOST-2008 and HOST-2009 General Chair and continue to serve as Chair of the Steering Committee for HOST. He also co-founded IEEE Asian-HOST ( Further, he co-founded Journal on Hardware and Systems Security (HaSS) ( and currently serving as EIC for HaSS. He is also a co-founder of Trust-Hub ( He served as associate Editor-in-Chief (EIC) for IEEE Design and Test of Computers from 2012-2014. He is currently serving as an Associate Editor for IEEE Design and Test of Computers, an Associate Editor for JETTA, an Associate Editor for Journal of Low Power Electronics (JOLPE), an Associate Editor for ACM Transactions for Design Automation of Electronic Systems (TODAES), and an Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on VLSI (TVLSI). He has served as an IEEE Distinguished Speaker and an ACM Distinguished Speaker from 2010-2013.

Prior to joining University of Florida, Dr. Tehranipoor served as the founding director of the Center for Hardware Assurance, Security, and Engineering (CHASE) and the Comcast Center of Excellence in Security Innovation (CSI) at the University of Connecticut.

Prof. Tehranipoor is a Senior Member of the IEEE, Golden Core Member of IEEE Computer Society, and Member of ACM and ACM SIGDA. He is also a member of Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE).